5th of 2015.

url-1

Ancient Near Eastern Context and the Old Testament // John H. Walton.

This was the assigned textbook of a class I audited. Oh, the professor was also the author. Since, it was a graduate level course I never bothered to read the book. Now that it has been well over a year since the class, I have had a renewed interest in refreshing myself concerning the complex relationship between the Old Testament and its ancient Near Eastern context. It happens more than you think.

This book is stellar. I partly say that because I am extremely bias since I am a huge fan of Dr. Walton’s work. But despite my bias, this book is jam packed with resources — both critical and confessional.

It will challenge you, if you have a conservative background, but read thoroughly and tread carefully and be rewarded richly.

Leave a Reply

