Outliers // Malcolm Gladwell.

tumblr_o1b53euFtq1v0yuh8o1_400.jpg

What makes the outliers outliers? Gladwell with his suave finesse of storytelling unveils stories of success through two focal lenses: opportunity and legacy. Hard-work is an absolutely necessary ingredient for success, but that matters when and where and around whom it is practiced and performed. Unbeknownst to the vast majority, success is not solo-act: success is the interweaving of chance, challenge, and community. The chance to shine. The challenge to continue to shine. And the community that fosters the shine. To know one’s history should not be an egotistic venture, but rather a humbling acknowledgement of the truth: you had both the opportunity and legacy for your success.

3 thoughts on “Outliers // Malcolm Gladwell.

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them because they are all equally great.

    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful. I am so happy I came across your blog and found it because I do really love it and I truly can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:

    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    1. Thanks! Your comment means a lot :). My philosophy for this blog is quite simple (and bit lazy :p): write pithy summaries that laces my impressions in under 150 words.

Leave a Reply

